The people who lead the OCC include experienced professionals with diverse backgrounds in bank examination, law, risk management, economics, finance and accounting, organizational management and governance, and human resources. Each plays a critical role in ensuring the safety and soundness of our federal banking system.

Acting Comptroller of the Currency

Michael J. Hsu became Acting Comptroller of the Currency on May 10, 2021. The Comptroller of the Currency is the administrator of the federal banking system and head of the OCC.

You can also view past Comptrollers of the Currency.

OCC Executive Committee

  • Greg Coleman

    Greg Coleman

    Senior Deputy Comptroller for Large Bank Supervision

  • Grovetta Gardineer

    Grovetta Gardineer

    Senior Deputy Comptroller for Bank Supervision Policy

  • Larry L. Hattix

    Larry L. Hattix

    Senior Deputy Comptroller for Enterprise Governance and Ombudsman, and Chief Risk Officer

  • Benjamin W. McDonough

    Benjamin W. McDonough

    Senior Deputy Comptroller and Chief Counsel

  • Sydney Menefee

    Sydney Menefee

    Senior Deputy Comptroller for Midsize and Community Bank Supervision

  • Kathy K. Murphy

    Kathy K. Murphy

    Senior Deputy Comptroller for Management and Chief Financial Officer

  • Blake Paulson

    Blake Paulson

    Senior Deputy Comptroller for Supervision Risk and Analysis

Key OCC Leaders